My Zoo Visit

As a child I loved visiting zoos. I would go there on weekends, with mom and dad on Saturdays, and dad always bought me candy after. Even when I grew up I never really stopped visiting zoos, and even though some of my friends still yank my chains because I love going to a zoo, I never have been able to get over my fascination for zoos.

In Lima too I made it a point to visit the zoo when I reached the city. I found out that there were not one, but two zoos in Lima. One of the things that struck me when I went to the Park of Legends, or the Parque de Las Leyendas was that there were lesser number of tourists than locals at the zoo. This one is the traditional zoo of Lima.

Apart from the well separated sections that house the animals from the three different regions of the country (the tropical jungle, mountain sierra and the desert), the zoo also houses museums, and a Botanical Garden.

There was so much to see, and thankfully I had reached early to check out the sights the zoo had to offer. It opened at 9 and by the time I was done it was already 6! Apart from the animals the zoo also has pyramidal structures that were reminiscent of the old civilizations of ancient Peru.

There is also the Museo Petrolo where I learnt how crude oil is dug out and transformed in its usable form. Also I checked out the butterfly exhibition at the Celestino Kalinosky.

At the end of the day, I missed my dad and mom a lot. There was no one to buy me candy this time. So I bought some for myself.

Dentist I am coming!

Leave a Reply

