Eating out one day

Money has been tight and I have been living precariously these last few days. I get by of course, but I don’t get to indulge too often. So I was really excited when a few of us decided that we should find a bite somewhere else other than in our own kitchen! So we decided that we should eat Chinese (of course what else did you expect a student on a budget to eat?).

So my English friend Damian suggests this small place that serves Chinese as takeaway. It also serves as an eatery and since we are bored of sitting at home and eating, we decide that we will go there to eat. No take out for us that night!

It’s a small group and we want chaufas. Chaufas is a Chinese- Peruvian fried rice that the restaurants serve here. Yes, I have eaten rice more than a few occasions since I arrived here. Kim, don’t run for the mountains; I still eat my vegetables more than my carbs.

Some tourists prefer to avoid these small joints altogether on account of reasons like foreign food and claim hygiene issues. When I came first to Lima, me too was testy about the food. But I have grown quite accustomed I must say, and of late I have been having Peruvian food without much qualms.

The place was done up with Chinese scriptures hanging from the walls, dim lights did up the interiors. Very oriental looking. The Chinese food was nice, tasty too, and like other foods here, generously spiced with the Peruvian Rocotto pepper!

Looking forward to another meal 😉

Leave a Reply

